Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House – Cromer, Norfolk – May 2018

As a family we love the beach, so any time we can get a long weekend away such as the bank holiday weekend earlier this month, we take the opportunity to visit the coast. Back in 2015 we spent a week in Cromer during the summer and fell in love with the place, to the extent that I came back with a desire to move there. That didn’t happen, but we did book 2 nights in a guesthouse when my son Lucas declared that for his birthday he’d like to go back to Cromer. That’s my boy.

There wasn’t a huge amount of availability when I looked to book, given it was quite short notice, but the Sandcliff Guest House at £132 for those 2 nights and situated near the beach and only 300 years from Cromer Pier looked like a winner. I booked, then told Lucas and my wife Denise, both of whom were delighted, and a little surprised that I’d done something on a whim, rather than the huge amount of research and deliberation that usually goes into these things. Don’t believe me? Read my latest post about planning a trip to Disneyland Paris on Dedicated to DLP. Now all we had to do was wait and pray for good weather, and if the latter didn’t happen, then wrapping up warm and being by the sea would be great too. Crabbing in the rain isn’t something I’ve done before, but Lucas and I were going to give it a go, while Denise found somewhere dry to have a cup of coffee.

Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House - Cromer, Norfolk - May 2018

Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House - Cromer, Norfolk - May 2018

We found the Sandcliff Guest House very easily, well, we were following the sat nav so there wasn’t a great deal that could go wrong, not these days. I was surprised at just how close to the beach it was, as from the photos it looked set back more into the town. I’d contacted them the day before to ask if we could park up and leave our bags until later when we’d check in, which they agreed to. However, when we got there, and grabbed one of the modest few parking spaces, they said we could put our bags in our actual room, and that if it hadn’t been cleaned yet then that would be sorted before we returned later in the day. As it happens our room has been cleaned, and so we were able to check in and get settled 2 hours before the official check in time. The guy who greeted us when we rung the bell on the desk in the foyer was very friendly and gave us all the information we needed plus our key, used to enter our room and the main door.

My first thought in entering the room was just how big it was, with a double bed at the back, and a single bed at the front, at 90 degrees to the main bed. Between the two beds were 2 faux leather bucket chairs, looking at a really rather big flat screen television which was sat on an even bigger drawer unit. With a big wardrobe, containing plenty of hangers, storage was not going to be a problem. I pulled back the net curtain and I was met with a view of the houses opposite, but further round to one of the windows pointing in a slightly different direction, and I could see the main road and even the sea. Room with a sea view – check.

Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House - Cromer, Norfolk - May 2018

Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House - Cromer, Norfolk - May 2018

The en-suite bathroom, partitioned via a sliding door, was well equipped with a big cubicle shower, toilet, washbasin and toiletries. There were a few bits in there that could do with some upkeep, like the rust around the handle in the shower and dirt at the base of the shower door. Likewise, there were some old fitting holes in the main room that could do with tidying up. Nothing that affected our stay, but a little TLC wouldn’t go amiss. Back to the shower and more water pressure for the shower would be appreciated, would be nice to take advantage of the abundance of hot water that was gratefully utilised by all. The towels provided were plentiful, and pretty big too, something you don’t get in many hotels and is constantly a bugbear of mine.

Our room was on the ground floor, right near the front door, so when we were in bed by 9.30pm after a fun filled first day and we heard loud voices in the foyer, I thought our coastal paradise was about to take a turn for the worse. However, after a few minutes of said chatter, silence returned and we all slept until 5.50am the next morning. The time we awoke is not because of any disturbances in the hotel, but due to it being Lucas’ 10th birthday and to say he was excited would be an understatement, hence the early start. We chose not to have maid service as using towels for 2 days in a row is not a hardship, and to their credit, they do have a notice up explaining the environmental benefits of not washing towels every day. We also didn’t need our beds making and there were presents all over the room, so all in all best not to invite any staff in for undue work, and a football themed gift obstacle course.

Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House - Cromer, Norfolk - May 2018

Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House - Cromer, Norfolk - May 2018

Hotel Review: Sandcliff Guest House - Cromer, Norfolk - May 2018

Returning from a fun day at Bewilderwood we couldn’t get a parking space in the allocated area, but we’re lucky enough to get a free space in the parking bays across the road that leads down to the pier. Night 2 was uneventful, which is what you want when you are sleeping, and the next morning we packed up and drove to Sherringham. You don’t even need to check out as such, as there’s a slot in the desk in the foyer to drop keys into when you leave, so very much hassle free. They offer breakfast with for supplemental cost, but we were out and about and utilising the Morrisons attached to the petrol station 5 minutes away for our early morning eats, and later evening beers.

Aside from the aforementioned minor cosmetic improvements and shower water pressure, there’s nothing that could have improved our stay at the Sandcliff Guest House. It was a huge light room with great views and a stone’s throw from the beach. Beds were comfy so we all slept well and the owner was really friendly. At a cost of £132 for 2 nights, on a bank holiday weekend, I’d call it a veritable bargain. Being someone who likes familiarity and dislikes the risk of bad accommodation with any first-time stay, I’d go straight to the Sandcliff Guest House when staying in Cromer again, and can give it a big recommendation to anyone reading.

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *